ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Established presence problem.

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

D del Cid
Newly Registered

Established presence problem.

Post by D del Cid » Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:35 am

Hi, I need some advice - i came to the UK in 2005 under voluntary work category and switched to a student visa in 2006. I completed my undergraduate degree in 2009 and was granted a post study work visa for two years from 2009 until 2011. I have applied to the UKBA for a visa to study for a further year but was refused based on insufficient funds. I called the UKBA and was advised that because I had studied in the UK for the past three years, I had an established presence in the UK and therefore the threshold of funding that I needed to show was £1,200 (outer London) which I did for the required 28 day period. The UKBA states that my most recent leave was post study for two years and that does not qualify as having an established presence and therefore the fund threshold is actually £5,400. These new rules are unnecessarily complicated and I have always given them the required proof of evidence and NEVER overstayed. I have a support letter from my institution and I need to know if there are grounds for successful appeal. Thanks in advance for your help.

Greenie
Respected Guru
United Kingdom

Post by Greenie » Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:22 am

The refusal is correct so i can't see how there would be any grounds of successful appeal.

D del Cid
Newly Registered

Post by D del Cid » Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:47 pm