ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

wanting to move to the uk

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

ladyluckpinup
Newly Registered

wanting to move to the uk

Post by ladyluckpinup » Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:43 pm

hi there

i am new to this forum, so please bear with me. just hoping for some direction.

my name is tara and i am a 21 year old administrator from new zealand. this year my fiance tom moved over here from the uk (hes a citizen) and is on a WHV for 23 months.

we are engaged and plan to marry early 2007 in new zealand. we have plans to move to the UK about mid 2007.

could anyone give me any advise about this? will i be able to work when i arrive in the UK or do i need to apply for a work permit/visa of some kind.

sorry about this, this is all new to me.

any replies appreciated.

thanks.

tara.
Last edited by ladyluckpinup on Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

John
United Kingdom

Post by John » Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:40 am

Hi, after the marriage and prior to moving to the UK you will need to apply for a 2-year spouse visa. Armed with that visa you will be able to enter the UK and live here. It also gives you full rights to work in the UK without needing to get a Work Permit.

Lots more information available on the www.ukvisas.gov.uk website. You will want to download the VAF2 application form and also the INF4 guidance notes.