ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Towards Permanent Residence (PR) and Other RC Issues.

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

DestinyChild

Towards Permanent Residence (PR) and Other RC Issues.

Post by DestinyChild » Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:44 pm

I just want the House to examine my case and offer some advice to me. I got my Residence Card in February 2011 and it will expire in 2016. I got it as a Family Member of an EEA National who is exercising Treaty Rights in the UK. I have been working since August 2011. I have started thinking about my future in Britain and the PR comes to my mind. I am single and anytime from now, I will start a relationship. It depends on my choice of Woman. Now if I end up marrying a British Woman before 2016 when my RC expires, will it affect my status? Do I need to go back to my country when I want to marry and apply for a different visa to come back to the UK? I am legal in the UK now with an RC but I read somewhere on this forum that you can't switch visa categories. What do you think?